Mighty Red Pen

October 9, 2006

Much, and also huge

Filed under: At home with MRP,Kidspeak — mighty red pen @ 1:08 pm

S., age 3, is exploring a new word: much. He uses it in place of “more” and “a lot.” It started about a week ago and it typically involves food, as in “I want much bananas” or “I want much sprinkles on my ice cream.” This morning, he pointed at his bowl of frosted mini wheats of which there were evidently not enough and said, loudly, “I want much!”

Last night, he said, “I saw a fire engine the other day and it was huge!” It always strikes me as interesting to hear him use a word I’ve never heard him use before. It’s like watching the building blocks of his vocabulary growing right before my eyes.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

