Mighty Red Pen

June 14, 2008

Scooby snacks

Filed under: At home with MRP,Kidspeak — mighty red pen @ 1:39 pm
Tags: ,

There are some days you think, “Wow, my 27-month-old is an absolute genius with language. Just listen to all the words he knows.”

Then there are the days you realize that words are still just sounds to him. Some have meaning, some don’t. A lot of times, when you think he is repeating a word you just said, he is really just repeating the sound.

This is most obvious with songs. For instance, “Baa baa black sheep, have you any wool?” becomes “Baa baa black sheep, ay ya ya ya woo?” But D. (the aforementioned 27-month-old) doesn’t care. Every song, no matter how mangled the lyrics, ends with lots of clapping and exclamations of “yea!”

I think my favorite example is the way in which something which is very clearly a group of words to me is just one big word to him. For example, I say to him, “Do you want me to carry you?” When he wants to be picked up, he says, “Carryyou!” Or if he wants me to pick up blankie, he says, “Carryyou blankie!”

In another example, I ask him “Do you want to take a shower?” So when someone comes out of the shower, he says, “Daddy all done takeashower.”

But I think he really reached a pinnacle today when he said, “I want to watch Scoobyscoobydoowhereareyou?”

Alrightythen.

1 Comment »

  1. My son was in his 2’s and 3’s when I realized that “catch up” meant something different to him.

    When we ran ahead of him, we’d cry back to him, to get him to speed up, “Catch up!”

    So, when HE was running to catch up, he’d call to use, to get us to slow down, “Catch up!” It was clearly a command of something WE were supposed to do.

    I think that “catching up” meant “both of us running together,” to him.

    Like the American boy who played soccer w/ neighborhood boys while on vacation in Italy, and he thought “qui, qui” meant “throw the ball to me”; it means, literally, “here, here.”

    Comment by TootsNYC — June 16, 2008 @ 2:21 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

