Mighty Red Pen

September 21, 2009

My Uncle Emily

Filed under: Lit review — mighty red pen @ 7:13 pm
Tags: , ,

Because it’s never too soon to introduce your kids to 19th-century American poetry, check out My Uncle Emily by Jane Yolen.

my uncle emily

This is a fictionalized account of the real-life relationship between poet Emily Dickinson and her nephew Thomas Gilbert Dickinson (known as “Gib”):

One day when we were in the garden,
choosing flowers for the talbe,
my Uncle Emily gave me a dead bee
and a poem for my teacher.
Sometimes Uncle Emily is like that,
as if she wants me to see the world
one small bee
and one small poem
at a time.

S. (age 6), who normally reads about Star Wars and medieval times, was transfixed by the gentle rhythms of the short tale. D. (age 3 1/2) was wiggly throughout but, not to be outdone by his big brother, also proclaimed, “I wiked it, too!” when it was over.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

